Paper Hearts by Courtney Walsh — Review

Paper Hearts by Courtney Walsh

paperhearts

Synopsis:

Abigail Pressman would never have guessed that love notes penned on paper hearts by an anonymous couple could restore her belief in love. As a business owner in a quaint town at the base of the Rockies, she’s poured everything into dreams of expansion . . . and resisting the matchmaking efforts of the Valentine Volunteers, who gather in her store to continue Loves Park’s tradition of stamping mail with the city’s romantic postmark.

When Abigail is unwillingly drafted into the Volunteers, she encounters the paper hearts, a distraction that couldn’t come at a worse time. A hard-to-read doctor has become Abigail’s new landlord, and he’s threatening to end her lease to expand his practice.

As she fights a growing attraction to this handsome man crushing her dreams, Abigail is inspired to string the hearts in her store, sparking a citywide infatuation with the artsy trend. But when a new batch of hearts reaches the Volunteers, it appears something tragic has happened to the couple. Will uncovering their story confirm Abigail’s doubts about love, or could it rescue her dreams . . . and her heart?

My Thoughts:

When I saw Paper Hearts was available for review, I grabbed it instantly! I fell in love with Walsh’s Sweethaven series and have been waiting for something new from her. Paper Hearts is a love story, but it’s so much more. It’s about feelings of unworthiness, self-blame, and failure. It’s about forgiveness, perfect love, and romance. Walsh proves her talent for making characters real and dynamic. Not only did I see parts of myself in Abigail Pressman, but also in each of the supporting characters. While parts of the story were rather predictable, Walsh manages to keep an underlying sense of suspense throughout the book. I appreciate the realness and reverent manner in which the author approaches grief and death. I expected this book to be mostly lighthearted, but I was pleasantly surprised by the heavier storyline. I loved reading about the ladies in the Valentine Volunteers and hope to see more of them in the future. Loves Park is a place I’d love to visit again! Bring it on, Courtney Walsh!

To see the adorable video trailer for Paper Hearts, go here.

Visit the author’s Facebook page here.

*Tyndale House Publishers provided me with a complimentary copy of this book for review purposes.

Advertisements

At Home in Last Chance by Cathleen Armstrong — Review

At Home in Last Chance (A Place to Call Home Book 3) by Cathleen Armstrong

At Home in Last Chance is the third book in Armstrong’s A Place to Call Home series. Like the first two, this story is set in Last Chance, New Mexico. Kaitlyn Reed was introduced in the 2nd book, One More Last Chance, as Chris’ sister who dropped off her daughter and took off with her new boyfriend. Kaitlyn has returned to Last Chance in an effort to clean up her life and take care of her daughter. However, she finds it hard to escape her past mistakes in a town so small and seemingly judgmental. Throw in Steven Braden, charmer extraordinaire, and Kaitlyn’s task gets much more difficult. At Home in Last Chance is a story in which you can’t help but care about the characters, and Armstrong adequately avoids predictability. I don’t love the cover, mainly because it’s not at all how I picture Kaitlyn. Despite that, the story feels honest and realistic. Fans of Chris & Sarah will love seeing their story continue in this Last Chance novel. Highly recommended for fans of Contemporary Inspirational Fiction!

Publisher’s Synopsis:

What happens when the life you’re running from won’t let go of your heart?

Kaitlyn Reed and Steven Braden have always had a similar philosophy of life: when the going gets tough, they get going–out of town and away from the problem. Now they are both back in Last Chance, New Mexico, and trying to start over.

Kaitlyn is working to reestablish a relationship with the seven-year-old daughter she left behind six months earlier. Steven is trying to prove to his family that he is not the irresponsible charmer they have always known him to be. As Kaitlyn and Steven find themselves drawn to one another, one big question keeps getting in the way: How will they learn to trust each other when they don’t even trust themselves?

With emotional depth and characters who leap off the page and into your heart, Cathleen Armstrong invites you to return once more to the dusty and delightful town of Last Chance.

Author Info:

Cathleen Armstrong lives in the San Francisco Bay Area with her husband, Ed, and their corgi. Though she has been in California for many years now, her roots remain deep in New Mexico where she grew up and where much of her family still lives. She is the author of Welcome to Last Chance, winner of the 2009 American Christian Fiction Writers Genesis Award for Women’s Fiction, and One More Last Chance.

*I received a copy of this book from Revell Reads in exchange for an honest review.

The Kindle version of all 3 books in this series are currently on sale on Amazon!! Check them out now!!