All’s Fair in Love and Cupcakes by Betsy St. Amant — Review

All’s Fair in Love and Cupcakes by Betsy St. Amant

Alls-Fair-252x384

All’s Fair in Love and Cupcakes is so cute! I fell in love with the cover the first time I saw it. It took me awhile to get into the book, but I’m thinking that has more to do with the fact that I’ve been reading fast moving suspense novels than it has to do with this book. Once I got to chapter 6 or so, the story really seemed to pick up. It’s a classic “best friends love each other but are scared to admit it” situation. The story felt real, and that probably has to do with the slower pace as well. I thought the book was predictable, but then St. Amant threw a few surprises our way! I really liked the behind the scenes view of Cupcake Combat because I can easily see Cupcake Wars being handled that way. I definitely pictured Justin Willman as Sam! Overall, I enjoyed this story and was satisfied with the ending. Betsy St. Amant did a great job of not forcing the story but letting the plot develop naturally. I especially liked that she gave us both main characters’ point of view. Often in stories like this one we don’t get the male’s perspective, so that set this book apart. All’s Fair in Love and Cupcakes is for fans of Cupcake Wars and Contemporary Christian Romance. Read it with a cupcake in hand on a relaxed day!

Info from the Publisher:

{MORE ABOUT ALL’S FAIR IN LOVE AND CUPCAKES}

All’s Fair in Love and Cupcakes

Kat inspected rows of the same old cupcakes. They seemed to blink back at her, as if they knew she was capable of so much more.

Kat Varland has had enough of chocolate, vanilla, and strawberry.

At twenty-six years old, Kat is still living in the shadows of her family in Bayou Bend, Louisiana. Still working shifts at her Aunt Maggie’s bakery. Still wondering what to do with her passion for baking and her business degree. And still single.

But when Lucas Brannen, Kat’s best friend, signs her up for a reality TV bake-off on Cupcake Combat, everything Kat ever wanted is suddenly dangled in front of her: creative license as a baker, recognition as a visionary . . . and a job at a famous bakery in New York.

As the competition heats up, Lucas realizes he might have made a huge mistake. As much as he wants the best for Kat, the only thing he wants for himself—her—is suddenly in danger of slipping away.

The bright lights of reality cooking wars and the chance at a successful career dazzle Kat’s senses and Lucas is faced with a difficult choice: help his friend achieve her dreams . . . or sabotage her chances to keep her in Louisiana.

Learn more and purchase a copy on Betsy’s site.

Betsy St. Amant

{MORE ABOUT BETSY ST. AMANT}

Betsy St. Amant lives in Louisiana with her young daughter and has a heart for sharing the amazing news of God’s grace through her novels. A freelance journalist, Betsy is a member of American Christian Fiction Writers. When she’s not reading, writing, or singing along to a Disney soundtrack with her daughter, Betsy enjoys inspirational speaking and teaching on the craft of writing.

Find out more about Betsy at http://www.betsystamant.com/.

Betsy’s Facebook, Twitter, & Pinterest

Betsy St. Amant is a woman of many hats shoes, but one who loves Jesus no matter where her feet are planted, whether that’s being a mother in running sneakers, a career-woman in tottering high heels, or a barefoot author. Betsy is celebrating her latest release, All’s Fair in Love and Cupcakes, with a Kindle giveaway and “Love and Cupcakes” Author Chat Facebook Party on September 18. Click here to learn more and enter.


What’s your go-to activity to get out of writer’s block?

Definitely a white chocolate mocha from Starbucks! Also, maybe a little Jimmy Fallon on the Tonight Show for a laugh, and a few hugs from my daughter. If I still need something else, I will go for a walk or jog or hit up my punching bag for some endorphins!

When you were in kindergarten, what did you want to be when you grew up?

A veterinarian—which is just really, really ironic now because I can’t handle gross smells or blood or anything like that, and while I do love dogs and horses, I typically just prefer to not have to mess with animals at all!

Favorite ice cream flavor:

Mint chocolate chip.

If you had an extra room in your house, what would you use it for?

A library! This is so needed!! I have full bookshelves and full under-the-bed boxes crammed with books. Sigh. One day . . . .

What is the farthest place from home you’ve ever been?

Mexico on a cruise.

What book are you currently reading?

Battlefield of the Mind by Joyce Meyer, and re-reading (because it’s that great!) Waking the Dead by John Eldredge.

If you were a given a gift card to any restaurant, where would you want to eat?

Cantina Laredo – it’s an amazing gourmet Mexican food restaurant with the best queso in the world!

What was the best birthday present you ever received?

A gift card to Cantina Laredo *wink* Just kidding. I’m not sure, every year I receive so many sweet and heartfelt gifts, it’s hard to decide or pick one. I am so blessed!

When do your best ideas come to you? Early morning or late at night?

In the shower. So whenever that is depending on my day!

What task do you dread doing each week?

Dusting. I. Hate. Dusting. Which is why my counters and furniture look the way they currently do ☺

Giveaway & Facebook Party

 Betsy St. Amant All's Fair in Love and Cupcakes

One winner will receive:

  • A brand new Kindle
  • All’s Fair in Love and Cupcakes by Betsy St. Amant

Enter today! The giveaway ends on September 18th. Winner will be announced at the Love & Cupcakes” Author Chat Party on 9/18. Betsy will be hosting a “sweet” book chat, giving away prizes, and answering questions from readers. She will also share an exclusive sneak peek at her next book project!

So grab your copy of All’s Fair in Love and Cupcakes and join Betsy on the evening of September 18th for a chance to connect and make some new friends. (If you haven’t read the book, don’t let that stop you from coming!)

To learn about the story behind All’s Fair in Love and Cupcakes, go here.

*I received a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s