What I Thought Was True by Huntley Fitzpatrick — Review

My Review:

I absolutely loved My Life Next Door, so I was fairly certain I’d adore this book as well. I really enjoyed What I Thought Was True, and I flew through the 400 pages in a short amount of time. This doesn’t feel like a long story, and thankfully there are no lulls. While reading, I kept thinking, “How will I rate this book? 3 stars or 4? What am I going to say about it?” It was a GOOD book, but there’s nothing inherently unique about the story itself. The gold, however, is in the writing. Fitzpatrick’s style made this typical tale of poor girl/rich boy feel completely new and fresh. I’m a sucker for summer romances, Nantucket vacations, and YA fiction, so this book hit on 3 of my loves. The characters are accessible and all too human. The only one I had a hard time getting a grasp on was Gwen’s dad, and I’m still not sure how to picture him. I’ve been itching for this release since I read Fitzpatrick’s other novel a few months ago, and I was definitely not disappointed. My only criticism of her first novel was the amount of rough language used—mainly the f word. I was so happy to see this book was much cleaner! I still think My Life Next Door is my favorite of her titles so far, but I can’t wait to see what she gives us next! After losing myself in both of her novels, Huntley Fitzpatrick is officially on my list of favorite authors. Make sure to read one (or both!) of her books this summer!

Book Synopsis:

From the author of My Life Next Door comes a swoony summertime romance full of expectation and regret, humor and hard questions.

Gwen Castle’s Biggest Mistake Ever, Cassidy Somers, is slumming it as a yard boy on her Nantucket-esque island this summer. He’s a rich kid from across the bridge in Stony Bay, and she hails from a family of fishermen and housecleaners who keep the island’s summer people happy. Gwen worries a life of cleaning houses will be her fate too, but just when it looks like she’ll never escape her past—or the island—Gwen’s dad gives her some shocking advice. Sparks fly and secret histories unspool as Gwen spends a gorgeous, restless summer struggling to resolve what she thought was true—about the place she lives, the people she loves, and even herself—with what really is.

A magnetic, push-me-pull-me romance with depth, this is for fans of Sarah Dessen, Jenny Han, and Deb Caletti.

What’s on your summer reading list? Leave me your recommendations in the comments!

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s