The Princess Wars — Review

I just finished reading The Princess Wars  by Melody Carlson!

The Princess Wars is the first book in a new series from Melody Carlson. It’s actually based on a dream she had! She self published this book, which is always a huge risk for an author. I don’t usually read fairy tale type stories, but I decided to give this one a chance because I love Carlson’s work. I’m so glad she took the risk and released The Princess Wars!!

The story follows twin princesses Heather and Rose. Heather stands to inherit the throne, and Rose is extremely jealous. Heather leaves on a journey before their 18th birthday. She wants to get a closer look at her kingdom, and she decides to go in disguise. Her journey is tumultuous to say the least. Throw in an attractive boy, a vengeful sister, and a race for the crown–this book isn’t short on conflict! The story is resolved in this book, but Carlson also gives us little teasers for the sequel!

I really enjoyed this story, and I’m looking forward to the next in the series. It’s the first book of its type that I’ve read and I was completely surprised by how much I fell into the story! It allowed me to escape into fairy tale land for a few hours. As is usually the case with Carlson’s work, this book was so easy to visualize as I was reading it. If you enjoy fantasy/fairy tales–you’ll love this book. If you don’t usually like that genre, The Princess Wars just may change your mind! I couldn’t be more happily surprised with this book, and I hope you’ll give it a chance!

Goodreads Synopsis:

The twin princesses of Raspen Kingdom have been at odds for their entire lives. Firstborn Heather is a no-frills girl who grew up riding horses, fencing, and dreaming of great adventures. Meanwhile her twin sister Rose loves ornate jewels, silk gowns and being treated like royalty. Because the king is sickly, Heather is due to take the throne on the twins’ eighteenth birthday. But before she is crowned, Princess Heather embarks on an exciting journey throughout the kingdom. And it’s not long before Heather’s adventure goes sideways and threatens to undo the entire kingdom.

The Princess Wars is available on amazon here.

I received a digital copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

One thought on “The Princess Wars — Review

Leave a Reply

