October 2013 Birchbox Review

My Birchbox arrived today, and I couldn’t be happier with the contents! This month’s theme is Beauty Buzz. First look:

20131009-190149.jpg
I instantly perked up when I saw a bright Tiffany-ish blue box next to a Benefit product! The first thing I took out of the box and examined was POP Beauty Aqua Lacquer in Flowering Fuchsia. POP Beauty seems to be showing up in lots of boxes lately!

20131009-190509.jpg
Here’s the product swatched on my hand (no flash, indoor light). I was surprised to find this tube of lip gloss has an applicator wand! It’s paddle-style is similar to the Whip Hand Cosmetics’ Lip Hit applicators.

20131009-190731.jpg
The product went on a little thick at first, but it wouldn’t take long to get used to applying. It felt smooth and wasn’t sticky. There’s a slight tingle and a minty-ish scent. I think this is the full size, which is $14.

Birchbox info: A British makeup pro created this sheer gloss, which plumps and hydrates with jojoba oil. The cute paddle-style applicator makes for precise lines.

I couldn’t keep from grabbing the Benefit box any longer! Benefit Fake Up concealer is loved by many, and I can’t wait to try it. I’m really glad Birchbox sent me the right shade! I received 01 Light, which is the best shot at working with my super paleness. It’s a pretty good sized sample. The full size is $24.

20131009-191406.jpg Birchbox info: Brighten tired-looking eyes with this hydrating under eye concealer and moisturizer combo. Gently swipe under each eye and use your ring finger to blend.

The next product was a Birchbox Find. It doesn’t count as a regular sample, it’s just a bonus! This item was revealed in the sneak peek video this month.

20131009-191740.jpg
It’s Chapstick Hydration Lock in Vanilla Creme. I’m a sucker for vanilla, so I’m happy with this bonus product! It also came with a $1 off coupon. I love me some coupons. It appears to be completely sheer and can be used as a lip primer. Here’s a shot of the product.

20131009-191944.jpg (That’s Julep’s Christina on my nails. The color is actually a deep red-orange with microglitter shimmer! I know it’s time to repaint them, I just haven’t gotten around to it yet. I only used one coat over Ulta base coat and it didn’t chip for a week!)

I saved the beautiful box for last. Inside, I found Liz Earle Cleanse & Polish Hot Cloth Cleanser and Pure Muslin Cloth. I’m really excited to use this product! I hope it’s not too much for my sensitive skin to take.

20131009-192248.jpg How cute is it that they print on the inside of the box lid? Loving this company already.

20131009-192408.jpg I like that they included a small instruction booklet. The full size cleanser is $21.50 and 2 cloths are $6.

Birchbox info on cleanser: UK favorite that uses a two-step ritual to purify and exfoliate. A Birchbox exclusive! Massage into skin. With muslin cloth, wipe off gently in small circles, from the center out.

Birchbox info on cloth: Ditch your harsh exfoliation and use this pure muslin cloth, which gently polishes skin. Rinse with warm water and wipe off cleanser. Hang to dry.

My rating for the October Birchbox: A

Am I happy with my October Birchbox? Absolutely!! I can’t wait to use all of these products. Birchbox has blown me away three months in a row! It only costs $10/month. If you want to subscribe, click through any of my referral links in this post.

Other subscribers, did you like your October box? Did you get something different? Tell me in the comments!

15 thoughts on “October 2013 Birchbox Review

  1. Pingback: October Birchbox | 50 Things Before I Turn 50

  2. I got the same things except the Benefit Fake Up. I’m such a sucker for Benefit products, so I wish I would have gotten to try that!

  3. Got my boxed today. It pretty much sucked compared to yours! :/ I’ll do an actual review post on it soon but I got: Stainiac, Supergood Sunscreen Serum, Serious Skincare Glycolic Gommage Extreme Renewel, Chapstick Hydralock, and Sara Potempa the Half Up (which is some thing you twist into your hair to give you a half up bun – ehhhh not something I want lol).

    • That’s frustrating. The Stainiac is supposed to be great, but I wouldn’t have been excited about the other products either. 😦 I’ve never heard of the Half Up…what the heck? lol

  4. Pingback: September 2013 Birchbox Review | Amber Writes

Leave a Reply

