August 2013 ipsy glam bag Review

The theme for this month’s ipsy glam bag was Glamour Academy. The bag itself is purple with gold decoration.Image

My bag consisted of the following products:

Michael Todd True Organics Jojoba Charcoal Gentle Exfoliating Facial Scrub

Pacifica Alight Mulit-Mineral BB Cream

Pixi Lash Booster Mascara in Blackest Black

noya cherry lip balm

Chella Dazzling Dark Brown Eyebrow Color PencilImage

My rating for the August ipsy glam bag: C+

I’m usually VERY happy with my ipsy glam bag. It only costs $10 and usually gives really great deluxe or full sized products. This month I was disappointed. I was really hoping for an Urban Decay lipstick sample and the Michael Todd Pumpkin Mask. This bag still boasted a great value, but I won’t be able to use all of the products. The eyebrow pencil is much too dark for me, and the BB cream has an odd scent and looks almost yellow on my skin. I’m not a fan of pixi products–I think they’re overpriced and not the best quality. I’m excited about trying the Michael Todd True Organics Charcoal Scrub, and who doesn’t love cherry lip balm? Overall, the ipsy Glamour Academy bag rates at about a C+ on my scale. One of the best subscription boxes around, but not a great month.

Any other ipsy subscribers out there? How’d you like your August bag?

If you’re not a subscriber, you can sign up here: ipsy glam bag

16 thoughts on “August 2013 ipsy glam bag Review

  1. Pingback: August 2013 Birchbox Review | Amber Writes

    • Hi, Brandy! I completely agree about the value difference. It’s frustrating. I like the Chella pencil more than I anticipated. I’m trying to trade the mascara or BB cream for the Michael Todd Pumpkin Mask. Thanks for stopping by!

    • Hi, Erika! I actually ended up liking the eyebrow pencil. It doesn’t look as dark as I expected. The tip makes it easy to create light strokes just to fill in brows. I won’t purchase it, though.

  2. I see I’m not the only one who is disappointed… my bag is the pixi booster, the charcoal scrub, the cheek stain, the lipm balm and the mini bb cream… could be worse? I don’t think so… :/ (sorry for my english)

  3. Pingback: $10 Credit to Pacifica! | Amber Writes

  4. I was so disappointed with the pixi mascara – their eyeliners are so wonderful and the mascara was so dry and was hard to remove. I love my lip balm – especially after I saw the two colors in the UD lipstick. Charcoal scrub was fine, but I got the bb cream (blech – not to pacifica, but to bb creams in general), mai tai nail polish (okay, I will try it) and my bonus was the lime crime nailpolish (rolls eyes – I really wanted the UD eyeshadow!!)

    I don’t get it – nail polishes up the wazoo. But I state I love EYESHADOW and none to be found in my august bag.

  5. Pingback: Back to School Glam Bag Essentials | Karmyxx's Style

  6. Pingback: August 2013 Ipsy Glam Bag | Your Fairy Godmother

Leave a Reply

